Driving to Flaine
Posted: 14 December 2009 08:59 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2009-11-24

Hi,

We’ve now decided that our first driving adventure to the Alps will be to visit Flaine (close resort, couple of beginners!), and was wondering if there’s any, apart from cost, pro’s/cons on the Eurotunnel Vs Ferry option?

We’d obviously like our first driving adventure to the Alps to be as hassle free and straight forward as possible so would the Channel crossing we decide on make any difference to our journey?

I’ve had some great replies to an earlier post with regards to snow chains and general advice on driving in the Alps, but if anyone could give any advice with regards to driving to Flaine itself, it would be much appreciated.

Many thanks, Merry Christmas and may your powder be fresh and plentiful!!

Gareth

Posted: 23 January 2010 07:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-01-16

Gareth
I have been using the tunnel for several years now and I find it the best option and well worth the extra cost.  The main advantage is speed.  There is an airport style departure lounge at Folkstone (and Calais) where you can get refreshments before boarding.  The shuttel itself is basic - sit in your car or stretch your legs with a walk to the toilet.  Often you will be loaded on the first available shuttle if you arrive early, which is another bonus.  However, if you have a long drive to the shuttle, bear in mind that the crossing doesn’t really offer a chance to rest or grab a snooze.

Posted: 30 January 2010 06:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2010-01-30

Hi,

I’ve just been in the same position - myself and 3 friends went to Les Carroz(Flaine) on Sunday night and returned Wednesday night. It was my first drive to the Alps and I can honestly say it was a really good decision.