Best resort for mature beginner?
Posted: 03 January 2010 12:59 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2008-11-24

A friend of ours wants to try ski-ing.  He’s in his 60s and has never ski’d.  He will be going alone in early February.  Any suggestions for a pretty resort with plenty of alpine charm, with easy access to good beginners’ slopes? (without needing a bus). Or ideas for an all-in programme (inc sociable accommodation and tuition) suitable for a mature beginner?  Thanks.

Posted: 03 January 2010 05:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2009-12-22

Hi Elizabeth - I may have the very place! Val Cenis is fantastic for complete beginners - even someone really nervous will find at least one really long run to do (The Escargot, which is actually the road to Italy in summer). Consequently there are no nasty surprises and a novice still feels that they’re really covering a lot of ground. If your friend is travelling alone and doesn’t mind lack of luxury, I would recommend Snowcoach’s hotel Alpazur - it’s on the main street and close to the main lift base. He could travel any way he chooses including by coach - it’s overnight - long, but with the bonus that you get two extra days skiing as you arrive early in the morning and leave in the evening. If you just use the accommodation, all the usual routes are available including train to Modane and a regular bus into the resort (about 45 mins). I think Snowcoach may also do a free transfer if you arrange your own travel. I haven’t stayed at this hotel, but I’ve been to their other two in France, in Valmeinier and St Gervais. They’re cheap and cheerful, but ideal for someone travelling alone as mealtimes are set, there are large tables and you can sit anywhere, and (at least both times I’ve been) there are lots of other lone travellers, most of them no longer young. It’s very sociable and jolly, lots of wine throughout meals (included) and usually some sort of quiz or something in the bar afterw