resort for nervous/timid skier
Posted: 01 December 2010 12:41 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2010-12-01

Hi all, newbie here so please be gentle.
I’m a reasonably good skier but my wife is not, she doesn’t hate skiing but anything more than a snooker- table with a beer mat under one end is steep for her…...
She loves the ambience and atmosphere and enjoy easy slopes but doesn’t like to be pushed or stress on the slopes. She had private lessons before and said she would really like to get better.
Also have two kids (1y and 5y) which we need to cater for. We will be taking the grandparents along to look after the one year old – they don’t ski but are happy pottering about, meet us for lunch, do shopping and so on.
If possible I want the other-half to have private lessons in the morning, and then for us to ski a few hours in the afternoon on a snooker- table with a beer mat under one end but hopefully not on the nursery slopes to get a sense of travelling.
Looking thus for:
1) Good lessons in English for wife and also good group lessons for the 5y.
2) Quite a few very easy slopes for us to ski together
3) Something for me to do in the morning but this is not the main priority
4) Something to keep grandparents amuse for a week
5) Nice hotel, the grandparents rather not go on holiday then self-catering
N
I only know the “mega” resorts but I’m sure there must be other hidden-gems out there.
We went to Cervinia last time and a lot of the lifts were shut due to high winds and I didn’t feel the slopes were that easy and it wasn’t easy with the kids.
Maybe Courchevel but is there enough to do for the non-skiers at 1650 as 1850 may be out of our budget?
Many thanks in advance

Posted: 01 December 2010 01:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  382
Joined  2008-01-05